Nottingham City SACRE: 19 October 2023

Membership Update

1. Since the last meeting in July 2023 the following actions have taken place with regard to SACRE membership.



Resignations, or nominating body changes, have been received or confirmed for:

A J Matsiko: Group D
Jill Edmonds: Group B
Sam Hustwayte: Group B
Muntazir Mohammed: Group A
James Stapleton: Group A

We thank them for their service to this Committee.

- 2. Adverts for the Baptist and United Reformed Church vacancies (Group A) have been placed with their respective nominating bodies. There has been no interest as yet.
- 3. An advert for Group C vacancies has been shared in the regular city schools' newsletter, SCENE and through Governor Service and the Nottingham Schools Trust. This generated seven positive enquiries for the Local Authority to consider.

Name Role		
Nazia Iqbal	Chair of Governors, Middleton Primary	
Fiona Maciel	Governor, Carrington Primary	
Leanne Harwood	Governor, Dovecote Primary	
Emmanuel Ofori	Governor, Berridge Primary & Bluecoat Aspley Secondary	
Samia Ishaque	Governor, Middleton Primary	
Ambreen Razak	Chair of Governors, Snape Wood Primary	
Claire Al-Hussaini Leader of SEND and Safeguarding (Djanogly City Academy		

- **4.** If Kirsty Lacey and Sarah Peek were willing to move to Group B, there could be four vacancies in Group C with the option to co-opt interested members.
- **5.** Representatives for Group D are yet to be confirmed.
- **6.** In addition to the representatives of Group A, as set out in the current Constitution, loakeim Oureilidis also attends to represent the Greek Orthodox Church. It is anticipated the planned revision to the Constitution will formalise the Greek Orthodox Church as a member of Group A.

7. The current membership for Nottingham City SACRE is as follows:

	Name	Organisation		
	Group A: Christian denominations, other than Church of England, other religions and their			
denominations reflecting the principal religions in the area 1. Martin Bennett Salvation Army				
2.	Mark Bennett	Methodist Church		
3.	Moira Dales	Roman Catholic		
4.	Krishna Dasi	Director of Hinduism Education Services		
5.	Chris Richards	Humanist		
6.	Deb Martin	Quaker		
7	M Qasim Hussain	Islam		
8	Ezekiel Alawale	Majority Black Led Churches		
9	Pvail Singh	Sikhism		
10	Norman Randall	Jewish		
11	Dr Ifran Malik	Ahmadiyya Muslim Association		
12	VACANCY	United Reformed Church		
13	VACANCY	Baptist Church		
Group B: The Church of England				
1.	Anne Lumb	Southwell and Nottingham Diocese		
2.	Alison Milbank	University of Nottingham - Theology & Religious Studies		
3.	Andrea Burrows	Lowdham Primary		
4.	VACANCY			
5.	VACANCY			
6.	VACANCY			
Group C: Teacher and Head Teacher Associations, and others representing educational interests				
1.	David Wand	UNISON		
2.	Sarah Peek	St Stephen's Primary		
3.	Louise Regan	National Education Union		
4.	Kirsty Lacey	Bluecoat Aspley Academy (Secondary)		
5.	VACANCY			
6.	VACANCY			
Gro	oup D: The Local Authority			
1.	Councillor Cheryl Barnard	Bulwell Forest Ward		
2.	Councillor David Mellen	Dales Ward		
3.	Councillor Angela Kandola	Berridge Ward		
4.	Councillor Neghat Khan	Dales Ward		
5.	Councillor Saj Mohammed	Mapperley Ward TBC		
6.	Councillor Farzanna Mahmood	Radford Ward TBC		

8. Recommendation

It is proposed that SACRE accept the Local Authority's recommendations that:

- a) M Qasim Hussain, Ezekiel Alewale formally join Group A
- b) Andrea Burrows formally joins Group B
- c) Ioakeim Oureilidis is formally co-opted into Group A, if agreeable.
- d) Kirsty Lacey and Sarah Peek move from Group C to Group B, if they and their nominating body, Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham, Church of England, are in agreement.
- e) All seven nominations for Group C, listed above are accepted into Group C, with a combination of full and co-opted positions, to be agreed.